top of page

Galaxy Sturgeon Fishing Kayak

I've been kayak Fishing for around 3 years now, fishing on and off for most of my life so fairly new to the scene so I appreciate if some people think my opinions are not as valid as others with more experience. This review is about the Galaxy Sturgeon MK1 and I have put this review together from my experiences of kayaking to give express my most neutral review of this Fishing Kayak.

I first came across the Galaxy Sturgeon while searching the internet; initially the price seemed a little low (£529 + £50 postage) compared to a lot of other well known makes considering what was included in the package, Measuring 13.5ft long and 32 inches wide with a promised weight limit of 28st. As this was my first kayak purchase and not knowing if I would enjoy the experience or not I decided to buy the Galaxy Sturgeon, mainly due to the price and the additional features that were included.

On first inspection it wasn’t cheap, rough or nasty and as It’s not always possible to try a kayak on the water before you buy the biggest test will be seeing how handles the water, the sea specifically. The first thing I noticed was how stable and smooth the Sturgeon was on the water (the more stable the better), so far so good. Paddling was just as good as the Sturgeon was very easy to paddle, this makes a great experience, speed built with ease making the kayak very smooth across the water. I have also taken the Galaxy Sturgeon out in rougher conditions,

again no problem and I felt safe and stable the entire time, with very little spray created which can be an issue with smaller kayaks.

I am 6’3 and weigh 17.5 st so fairly large but the kayak supported my weight plus all of my fishing gear whilst maintaining stability.

The kayak is 5mm thick all round and as tough as I’ve ever seen on a kayak. This is ultra-tough I could find any give was just behind the front hatch which is an obvious weak point and even then it wasn’t much at all.

The foot well has a pair rudder orientated foot plates that I found stiff to use at first but the kayak was brand new.

Amongst the accessories you get with the kayak are a pair of clips for the foot plates to stop them moving/falling off.

In summary, I have tested the kayak over the last two years out at sea in some very differing conditions and also on flat calm water. There’s not a lot to say really as this is one hell of a kayak for the price! she tracks really well and is really quick on the water too!

Over the last two years I have made a number of modifications which can be seen in the attached video:

bottom of page